Episode 8: Refuse Powers' Grasp

21–23 Oct 2016
Tramway & The Art School, Glasgow

Is there a link between how we’re divided into populations that can be caged and exiled by the prison-industrial complex, and the ways people’s bodies are violently categorised and segregated by race, class, gender or ability?

Over 3 days Episode 8 celebrates all the unruly ways we refuse to be defined by such violence, escape attempts to constrain us, tear down the walls of normative culture and build joy in flight.

Featuring: performances, discussions, screenings, workshop and a club with gender non-conforming rebels, students of blackness, lawyers, archivists, anarco-feminist street artists and witches, party hosts, filmmakers, prison abolitionists, poets, DJ’s, ex-prisoners and multi-media artists including:

Joshua Allen | boychild | Kai Lumumba Barrow | English Collective of Prostitutes | Elysia Crampton | Glasgow Open Dance School | Che Gossett | Reina Gossett | Juliana Huxtable | CeCe McDonald | Miss Major | Mujeres Creando | Sondra Perry | Scot-Pep | Dean Spade | Eric A Stanley | Umbrella Lane | We Will Rise


Check out our Introduction and Overview video in BSL to get a taster of what to expect - http://bit.ly/Epi8BSL. The following events will be British Sign Language (BSL) interpreted by Jo Ross and others.  

Fri 21 - Life in Flight from Every PrisonSat 22 - Miss Major and CeCe McDonald in CoversationSun 23 - Lineage for a Multiple-Monitor Work-StationSun 23 - Juliana Huxtable 

If you would like to attend other events, and require BSL interpretation we will try to make that happen. Please contact us, with as much notice as possible, and we will do our best - info@arika.org.uk to arrange.


The following events will have Stage to Text Subtitling, provided by Stage Text.  

Fri 21 - Life in Flight from Every PrisonSat 22 - Captive Genders - CriminalisationSat 22 - Miss Major and CeCe McDonald in CoversationSun 23 - Against Inclusion 

This involves the verbatim transcription of dialogue into text form as it is spoken live. Text is displayed as captions on a screen within the space.

We couldn't do it without the our Supporters: Tramway, Creative Scotland, Glasgow City Council, Glasgow Life, Cafe OTO, The Lorne Hotel and The Skinny


Presented by

Supported by

Your description of this image         

Thank you - Ainslee Roddick, Amalle Dublon, Andie Brown, boychild, Buzzcut, Cassandra Shaylor & Angela Davis, CeCe McDonald, Che Gossett, Chris Vargas, Constantina Zavitsanos, Darren Mitchell at The Lorne Hotel, Dawn Martin Lundy, Dean Spade, Deepa Shastri, Denise Ferreira da Silva, Digital Desperados, Elysia Crampton, Emily Roff, Eric A Stanley, Fielding Hope, Fred Moten, Hope Dector and the Barnard Centre for Research on Women, Jazz Franklin, Joe Heffernan & Ahya Simone, Joel & Josh at The Art School, John Stevens & Qu Junktions, Jonathan Anderson, Joshua Allen, Jude McGill and everyone at Tramway, Juliana Huxtable, Jo Ross, Hortense Spillers, Kai Lumumba Barrow, Karl Taylor, Leo at Awesome Agency, María Galindo & Arleti Tordoya Vega of Mujeres Creando, Martin Vincent & Aye Aye Books, Michael Roberson, Miss Major, Nadia Lucchesi, Niki Adams & Sarah Walker and everyone from The English Collective of Prostitutes, Park McArthur, Paul Beatriz Preciado,  Rachel at Kinning Park Complex, Rebecca Clemens at EAI, Reina Gossett, Robert Sember, SCOT-PEP, Sex Workers Open University, Simon Eilbeck, Sondra Perry, Stoffel Debuysere, StormMiguel Florez & Annalise Ophelian, Studio Julia (Erwan Lhuissier, Hugo Timm, Valerio Di Lucente), Soul Food Sisters, Teresa Maria Díaz Nerio, Tim Nunn, Jude McGill, Paul Sorley and everyone at Tramway, Tutlear Ltd, Toshio Meronek, Twiggy Pucci Garcon, Umbrella Lane, UNITY Collective, UNITY Language Exchange, UNITY LGBT Group, UNITY Sisters, West Glasgow Against Poverty (WGAP), Wu Tsang, everyone who came and contributed to Episode 7 and all of our friends and allies.

On Episode 8, Arika has involved: 

Neil Davidson, Barry Esson, Agnieszka Habraschka, Avalon Hernandez, Jim Hutchison, Ben Kamps, Emma Macleod, Kenny MacLeod, Bryony McIntyre, Emilia Muller-Ginorio, Anna Pearce, Ash Reid, Jo Shaw and Alex Woodward.